Best Workplaces for Commuters and the Association for Commuter Transportation‘s Sustainability Development Council co-sponsored “Strengthening the TDM to LEED Connection – Opportunities for Growth” netconference on Thursday, May 29, 2014.  


Event description:
More communities, developers and property management companies are actively seeking to mitigate traffic while embracing sustainable energy and environmental practices through the design of buildings and communities.  Research has found that such practices yield societal benefits and a real return on investment.  LEED ® (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) is a point based system developed by the U. S. Green Building Council (USGBC) to certify building and communities on such practices.  While LEED is often discussed in the context of new construction, there is a significant opportunity to earn a substantial number of points for “alternative commuting transportation” for existing buildings seeking LEED certification.   Co-chairs of the Association Commuter Transportation’s Sustainable Development Council, Peggy Schwartz, the Executive Director of the Transportation Action Partnership, Inc. and Justin Schor with Wells & Associates will identify new opportunities for the transportation demand management (TDM) professionals to work with developers and building owners.  They also will demonstrate how to use the “Green Building Resource Website” hosted by the TDM Institute to help link developers and property managers with qualified TDM professionals.  Nicholas Ramfos, president of the TDM Institute, will discuss the impetus to provide this latest tool to the TDM community.

Event presenters:

Justin Schor
Justin Schor has dedicated his entire career to the transportation demand management (TDM) industry. With first-hand outreach experience combined with his background in city and regional planning, Mr. Schor has the unique ability to confidently recommend TDM strategies and plans that are realistic, achievable, and measurable. Mr. Schor has been an active member of ACT since 1995. In that time he has developed and managed several ACT award-winning programs and served two terms on the ACT Board. He is currently serving as an At-Large Member of the ACT Board. Mr. Schor co-founded ACT’s Sustainable Development Council in 2013 and currently co-chairs it.

Nicholas Ramfos
Mr. Ramfos has been a TDM practitioner with nearly 25 years of program development and implementation at various Metropolitan Planning Organizations. He has developed and implemented various commute alternative programs and policies in the Washington DC, San Diego, Detroit, and Chicago regional markets. Many of the projects have encompassed energy efficiency, sustainability and livability issues. Ramfos has also implemented commuter transportation marketing campaigns which focus on social responsibility through traditional media and the use of social marketing. Ramfos is currently the Alternative Commute Programs Director with the Metropolitan Washington Council of Governments (COG) and is responsible for the development, implementation and evaluation of the regional Commuter Connections program which includes Maryland, Northern Virginia, and DC. He is currently the President of the TDM Institute, a member of the TRB TDM Committee, and member of US Green Building Council. He is former VP for ACT.

Peggy Schwartz
Peggy Schwartz has been involved with transportation demand management and traffic mitigation programs for over 30 years and has worked in the public-sector as well as in the private-sector with developers and property management companies. Peggy is the Executive Director of the Transportation Action Partnership, Inc. which operates the North Bethesda Transportation Management District providing TDM programs and services for over 900 private-sector companies and several major Federal agencies. She is a graduate of Leadership Montgomery and Maryland’s Smart Growth Leadership Program. She has a BA in Urban Studies from Hiram College and a Master’s degree in Planning from Cornell University. She co-chairs ACT’s Sustainable Development Council.

View Recording

AICP CM Credit (1): Approved