Contact Us:

2010 – Carsharing: The Campus Experience

Carsharing: The Campus Experience
A Best Workplaces for Commuters “Virtual” Roundtable Discussion

Date: Thursday, February 18, 2010
Time: 3 p.m. to 4:15 p.m. Eastern | 2 p.m. to 3:15 p.m. Central | 1 p.m. to 2:15 p.m. Mountain | 12 noon to 1:15 p.m. Pacific

The carsharing industry is experiencing substantial growth on college and university campuses across the nation with this trend predicted to continue. Carsharing has become the “must have” service for students, faculty and staff as universities strive to address parking and congestion issues while delivering on sustainability initiatives. Carsharing provides hourly car rental with insurance, gas and maintenance included and vehicles available 24/7. More providers are entering the market offering more options and opportunities for anyone looking to start a program. The college campus seems to offer an ideal setting for this type of service.

During this informative roundtable discussion, the panel will share their experiences from start-up and administration to marketing and membership of each unique carsharing program. Participants will hear about programs at Virginia Tech (U-CarShare), Stanford University (Zipcar), Champlain College and University of Vermont (Carshare Vermont) and the University of South Florida (WeCar). Each program is unique and the panel’s experiences will provide a glimpse into the new world of carsharing and the University campus.

The roundtable format will allow for a lively discussion and attendees can ask questions and receive answers during the session.

Roundtable Panel

Deborah Freed, Alternative Transportation Manager
Transportation and Campus Services
Virginia Tech

Angus Davol, Transportation Program Developer/Planner
Parking and Transportation Services
Stanford University

Meredith Schuft

Phil Winters, Director, TDM Program
Center for Urban Transportation Research
University of South Florida


Julie Bond, Project Manager
Best Workplaces for Commuters

This session is provided as a free benefit to Best Workplaces for Commuters members.

Please click the link below register by February 15 to receive your personalized connection information via email: